Timely Mage interviews Black Humor Mage

bmvtm3

“You can check out this interview in its original form and others at AVID Gamers!”

 

Today, our own co-author The Timely Mage interviews The Black Humor Mage.

AVID Gamer Spotlight
Armando Garcia: Game-Borrower Extraordinaire
The Black Humor Mage

“As Armando can attest to, timemage2
the gaming life is full of amazing experiences even if you don’t technically own the game. Owing much of his initial interest in games to family and friends, he knows from personal experience how games can bond people together. Join me as we listen to some of Armando’s awesome gaming moments.”

“So Armando, how long have you been a gamer?”

blackmage “I remember starting in the early 2000’s, so I’d say a little over 10 years.”

“There’s been a lot of good games in the past 10+ years. timemage2
Which ones have really awed you since you’ve been a gamer?”

blackmage “Off the top of my head oh I’d say games like the Metal Gear series, Chrono Trigger, Shadow of the Colossus, the Metroid series, Ocarina of Time and Kingdom Hearts.”

“Amazing games! A really tasteful lineup. timemage2
Have any particular games or gaming life in general impacted you over the years?

blackmage “Thanks! The games I listed above I feel have impacted my life in one way or another. In general gaming has shaped the way I spend a fraction of my time. I find gaming to be really engaging and stimulating and then there’s some I can even invest my emotions into. Portable gaming saved me from boredom early in my life. I had to tag along to a lot of places with my mom so I would bring along my Gameboy and later my PSP. Some games I really liked during that time were Pokémon, Mario Superstar Saga and A LOT of arcade ports. I’m still in love with arcade games (games like Pac-man, Dig Dug, Rolling Thunder, Galaga, Mappy, etc. ) to this day and they’re really what got me into gaming. Then my cousin had his GameCube and we’d play a lot of multiplayer games like Mario Kart, Melee, and Mario Party. I still like playing these kinds of games with my cousins today haha. Gaming is something that can bond people and that’s another way gaming has impacted my life. Kingdom Hearts gets a special shout out because it’s the first legitimate series I played and it jump-started why I play console games with story today. Now I’ve had the privilege to play all the games that I have over the years.”

“Wow, that’s awesome. Thanks for sharing. timemage2
My next question was going to be if there were any gaming moments or experiences that stuck out to you but you’ve already shared some. Still, I know gaming can give us a lot of stories to tell so are there any more you’d like to share?”

blackmage “Haha I have plenty of those. I remember getting my Wii and how it allowed me to go in time and experience games I didn’t get to play. I bought a lot of virtual console games like Super Mario Bros., Kirby’s Adventure, Mega Man, Super Metroid, Chrono Trigger, and Star Fox 64. I remember playing Metal Gear Solid: The Twin Snakes (on the Wii since you could play GameCube discs) and being blown away. Never before did I want to keep playing a series that badly. I went out and bought the MGS HD Collection, then the PS1 MGS on the PSN network. It has to be my favorite series. Bioshock: Infinite was my first platinum trophy and that was one of my proudest moments in gaming. Completing Ocarina of Time was amazing, I was proud that I could say I beat one of the most legendary games of all time. I’ll still continue on to play current and past games, there’s still so much game out there.”

“Great stories, man. timemage2
It’s those kinds of experiences that really make gaming special. Once again you’ve touched on my next question already but is there anything else about your gaming life that others might be surprised to know?

blackmage “Sorry I can go on quite a bit haha. I think some might be surprised to know I never really owned a PS2. I owned one when it first came out but it stopped working soon after. I never got another one so most of my PS2 experience (including Kingdom Hearts) happened because my cousin let me use his PS2 everyday after school. Actually a lot of my gaming experience has been “something borrowed”. My uncle let me borrow a lot of classic games throughout the years and I’d say he’s had a lot of influence on my gaming tastes.”

“That is interesting. You lucked out because timemage2
that was a good era for gaming that you wouldn’t want to miss out on. So to wrap things up are there any parting words of wisdom you’d like to share with fellow gamers?”

avatar30177_36 “Git gud.”

“Lol, great advice! timemage2
I’ll have to remember that the next time I pick up a racing or fighting game.
Thanks a lot, friend.”

End Transmission

 

One thought on “Timely Mage interviews Black Humor Mage

Kindly leave a civil and decent comment like a good human being

