Coming Next Turn: “Hyper Light Drifter”

HLD_Screenshot_BETA_entrance

Just to be clear, Alex Preston’s visual reverie Hyper Light Drifter is already available for play on Steam for PC and Mac, but what I’m really looking forward to is its release for home consoles.

One day, when arriving home from a day’s labor, I peeped a brown paper parcel perched on my sofa. It had been left there as a gift of spontaneity by my darling wife. Inside was a second controller for my new, infant PS4, then only two weeks old. Now I had two controllers! But I had no multiplayer games. Hyper Light Drifter is something I discovered while browsing for co-op features.
FXmGuD8
Instantly captivating, Hyper Light Drifter has been described as a combination of The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past and Diablo. It’s been called an homage to the 8-bit and 16-bit eras though I immediately thought of classic DOS games, which, if you’ve followed anything on our blog here then you know that that thought sets my tidbits aflame. Also, the classic Zelda influence is equally exciting.

1395083214_hyper-light-drifter

If you thought: Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind, you’re spot on. The developer cited the Ghibli animation as inspiration.

Hyper Light Drifter looks absolutely bonkers, but a polished bonkers. I adore its color palette with the bright magentas and cyans. I love the aesthetic too but its the fighting style that’s been labeled as “fluid”, “pitch-perfect”, “emphasizing player skill” and “fast-paced by contrast” which leads me to believe that Hyper Light Drifter is more than just a pandering visual throw-back for the late-twenties and up. Plus, any time slow piano plays over a trailer, I’m sold. And it’s both the critical acclaim and the complaint that the storytelling in Hyper Light Drifter is too “slow”, “minimalistic” and “abstract” which makes me think this is more of an art-piece than an average blockbuster video game. I stopped trusting critics, anyway.

Needless to say, I can’t wait for mid-2016, whenever that may be. Sate yourself as I did with the trailer. Or Steam, I guess.
-The Well-Red Mage https://thewellredmage.files.wordpress.com/2016/02/rmage2.jpg?w=788

 

5 thoughts on “Coming Next Turn: “Hyper Light Drifter”

Kindly leave a civil and decent comment like a good human being

