Reviews of November (2016)

Ladies and gentlemen: November. You made it through Election Day, NaNoWriMo, and Thanksgiving. No matter how dead inside you may feel, you survived! Now you just have to survive Christmas.

Here are the reviews we completed in November:

November gave us a surprise announcement from thatgamecompany. Their next project, currently under the presumable working-title “thatnextgame“, is on the horizon. For fans of Journey, Flower, and flOw, this is excellent news.

jpg

Some other highlights of the month included a new recurring series we’ve added to our well-red roster, namely blogger interviews. The idea for it hit me when I was sort of perusing and editing old articles we posted here. Back in February and March, we’d just taken our first steps to launch this blog and I was hurting for some quick, easy content. Several of us had already interviewed ourselves so it was a simple decision to make to include the interview transcripts here with our new magely personas.

Now that we’re no longer quite so hurting for content, I thought it’d be wonderful to honor some of our faithful followers by offering to feature them, their stories and their blogs in brand new interviews.

If you’re interested make sure you check out the post “Introducing Blogger Interviews” to find out how to sign yourself up. I’d like to thank the four bloggers who gave their time to be interviewed so far and I’m certainly looking forward to the others who have lined up to have their turn enthusiastically.

mic

I recently jumped on a sale to pick up I Am Setsuna, which I’d been looking forward to for quite some time (dat trailer!). It’s an homage to the JRPGs of the golden age in the 90’s, strictly Square RPGs like Chrono Trigger, which it takes several cues from. How exactly does it honor the RPGs of our youth (or my youth at least)? Be sure to read the mostly spoiler-free post “10 ways I Am Setsuna is nostalgic for the 90’s“.

i-am-setsunasm

Rage Mage rightWhat would November be without a little hatred? The Rage Mage made sure we had more than enough with his typical post on the NES Classic Edition. I’m not sure that he actually got a hold of one and hated it, or if he’s just angry that he can’t find one like everyone else in the world. For me, the NES mini is the one thing I ultimately want for Christmas and my wife, The White Out Mage, and I have been scouring stores and the internet for it. I’m not about to feed the price gougers but finding this lil console is turning out to be exactly like the proverbial needle in the haystack.

nintendo-nes-classic-editionrm

If perhaps you’ve had enough hate for one year or you’re still recovering from the brutal 2016 Election and its results, which split the nation and left many disheartened, in all seriousness please let me recommend that you read “Party Members without Party” as a segue into some positivity for the future. It’s all I could think to do in my small part as a writer to help heal our country, reader by reader.cunhsifwgaamh3ssmSpeaking of encouragement, I was blown away by the positive ingenuity of one of the most encouraging people I’ve come to know: Mr. Panda and his invention of the PANDA Award. We received some nominations and it’s really a beautiful and kindhearted gesture. I sincerely would like to thank everyone for their kind words and I hope that this award really continues to snowball! Not only is it a great opportunity to meet some new bloggers you maybe never saw before but it is also the perfect excuse for us to share some kind words with someone who may really need it.

give-a-panda-nz6q4d

As author Henry James said:

“Three things in human life are important: the first is to be kind; the second is to be kind; and the third is to be kind.”

So we’re now in December and speaking of months, you can now expect to see these icons I whipped up to color-coordinate our monthly summaries. They’d make a good 2017 Well-Red Mage calendar. That is until I can get around to that swimsuit calendar.

Journeying on into the month of December, I can hardly believe that this year is almost over. But a couple more months and we’ll be celebrating the completion of our first year here at The Well-Red Mage. My most fundamental gratitude goes to some of the dedicated people who come around daily to like and read and comment and participate in discussion and events, and above all to the staff of talented writers from across the world who took the time to craft their articles here.

allthemages1

Because of the nature of the modern lifestyle, they cannot all continue to produce work here, but what they have accomplished will forever remain enshrined in our tiny corner of the internet. November concluded with a holiday about giving thanks and I am very thankful for you, writers, reviewers, authors, friends.

On the more technical side of things, I thought I’d share a bit of the numerical progress from this past month. Let me be clear that again these things I don’t share to brag (there are many others who are doing far better) but solely to be transparent about the blogging process for anyone who would find this helpful.viewsnfollwersI am very grateful to everyone who helped us reach 25,000 views and for supporting us along the road almost to 500 followers (which includes of course non-WordPress followers).

numbersnovdaysmonths

Breaking down the data, you can see that the third week of November was characterized by a lack of traffic because of a lack of posting. I can’t blame that on anyone but myself. I may have been preoccupied with moving house, packing and unpacking, and what not but if I’m to ever be concerned about traffic the lesson is I can’t expect to get without first giving. ‘Tis the season, after all!

blastoise-kid-o.gif

BLAAASSSTOOIIISSSE!!!

However, we did just barely pull ahead in November compared to October, which is good to see. That’s about 100 more visitors and 4 less posts compared to October. Curiouser and curiouser. I’m going to attribute that to traffic gained from the celebrity of other bloggers featured in our interviews. My friends, in that sense it pays to network.

Finally, in looking forward to the future, let me announce that while NaNoWriMo is over… I am about to embark on StuGhiFeaFilReMo. What is that exactly and how will it define December? Scroll down to find out……

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

studiowellredmage

Stay tuned for more!

My recommendations to you from November, in closing. If you’re a sci-fi movie buff, no doubt you’ll enjoy Arrival. I went in expecting hard science fiction and I was not largely disappointed. I would recommend Monster Hunter Tri to you if they’d kept the online services going… instead I can certainly recommend you play Final Fantasy XII for a massive, engrossing home-console RPG and also Broken Age for a shorter and challenging point-and-click adventure experience by Double Fine. If you’re looking for an underground classic check out The Misadventures of Tron Bonne and the exceptional and astounding 3-D WorldRunner. If you want a really difficult retro experience, try your hand at the biblical inaccurate Exodus: Journey to the Promised Land. Oh and Final Fantasy XV just came out so be sure to peep Kingsglaive, if you think it’s worth it!

That’s all folks!
-The Well-Red Mage https://thewellredmage.files.wordpress.com/2016/02/rmage2.jpg?w=36&h=50

 

 

Ranked from best to worst:

Arrival (2016)  8.5

Monster Hunter Tri (2009)  8.5

Final Fantasy XII (2006)  8.4

Broken Age (2014)  8.3

Kingsglaive: Final Fantasy XV (2016)  7.1

The Misadventures of Tron Bonne (1999)  7.1

The 3-D Battles of WorldRunner (1987)  7.0

1942 (1985)  5.4

Exodus: Journey to the Promised Land (1990)  4.5

 

14 thoughts on “Reviews of November (2016)

  1. I blinked and the year is almost over… It’s crazy how fast this year went. You had an awesome November Mr. Mage! I love the Blogger interviews, entertaining reviews, and congrats on your impressive stats! I could go off on a rant close to Rage Mage proportions on the NES Classic situation, lol. I really hope you and your wife find one. If nothing else, it’ll be a nice post-Christmas present after the Christmas shopping craze is gone and stock levels no doubt return to normal. Those evil resellers are really killing the market right now. I’m already in training for the Nintendo Switch launch…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, 2016 flew by, despite all of its loud noises and yelling. Thanks for being such a consistent occupant and discusser here! Let’s ALL go off on a Rage Mage rant to loud Nintendo will hear us. Wifey ran to Wal-Mart today because there was a circulating rumor, and nothing yet. I really want this appetizer before the Switch!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m glad that NaNoWriMo is over…but my blog will never get the number of followers that you have! Kudos and congrats on your ass-kicking blog – keep up the great work! As if you need a loser like me to tell you that, LOL
    😎

    Liked by 1 person

Kindly leave a civil and decent comment like a good human being

