POLL: “Which Studio Ghibli films have you seen?”

tumblr_static_gh

 

Happy Tuesday, NPC’s!

It occurred to me earlier to put up a post like this. I’m curious as to which films in the Ghibli canon our readers have seen as we continue to set out on this challenge of reviewing all of them. This will also inform you exactly which films I’m going to review.

Please take our poll below and let’s see which are the most viewed. This includes their feature films, remember, and not TV movies, TV series, shorts, commercials, video games, documentaries, etc.

I’m predicting Princess Mononoke, Spirited Away, Howl’s Moving Castle, and My Neighbor Totoro (the first one I saw years ago) as the top 4. I’ve got one to peel off before I complete their canon, but I won’t say which one. Just remember this ain’t no contest.

Also don’t hesitate to tell us your favorite. My is Porco Rosso!

Thanks for participating!

-The Well-Red Mage https://thewellredmage.files.wordpress.com/2016/02/rmage2.jpg?w=36&h=50

 

poll updated to allow for multiple choice

 

35 thoughts on “POLL: “Which Studio Ghibli films have you seen?”

  1. First one I ever saw was Kiki’s Delivery Service, but I was really young and didn’t care for it because it wasn’t like a Disney movie. Spirited Away really got me into Ghibli, so it’s my favorite.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have seen only a few Studio Ghibli films from start to finish, however, I have seen the openings of quite a few. Where I live, there is a channel that tends to show them during school holidays (sometimes they are shown in the original Japanese), so I sometimes watch about twenty minutes in the morning. I have enjoyed the ones I saw, Spirited Away, Princess Monoke, My Neighbour Tortoro and Howl’s Moving Castle, partly because of the interesting stories and partly because they are so well drawn. I particularly enjoyed The Castle of Cagliostro, as it was a thriller and had a great climax.
    There is something strange I have noticed. I remember watching the Cat Returns twice, once in English and once in the original Japanese. I noticed that English version begins differently to the Japanese one (in the English version, the hero finds a cat that can walk on two legs, while she stalks an ordinary cat in the original version and learns the story of the Cat Prince from a shopkeeper). Is this two versions of the same film? Or have I watched the openings of two different films and got confused?

    Liked by 1 person

    • That would be confusing to only see the openings! You are actually thinking of Whisper of the Heart (the ordinary girl following an ordinary cat to the shopkeeper) and The Cat Returns, which is a spin off of Whisper of the Heart about the Baron. Whisper of the Heart is one of my favorites! I hope you get to see it entirely someday soon.

      Like

  3. I’ve seen all of them but for the last four releases. Need to catch up quick! Spirited Away and Princess Mononoke are both grand epics, but it’s always My Neighbour Totoro I return to for that special bit of magic, and if I really had to choose one it would be this. Another big fave for me is Pom Poko, a riot of a film with a good eco message. TBH I enjoy them all for own unique tellings and atmosphere.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for sharing! They’re a unique and versatile set of films, to be sure. I don’t think I was expecting Pom Poko to be as oddly funny as it was but I think I’d have gotten more out of it if I knew more about Japanese culture and folklore. Catch up quick on those last four! We’ll see who gets to watching Marnie first!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I just haven’t watched When Marnie Was There. I have been putting off watching it for quite a while. I think I am afraid of running out of Ghibli movies to watch, it must be some subconscious kind of thing.

    Anyway, I will be dull and say my favorite is Spirited Away!

    I will also add a sprinkle of negativity to this post by saying my least favorite one is Tales from Earthsea. I find it to be absolutely terrible!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve seen all the more famous ones; I think Spirited Away was my first.. Totoro has always been my favorite, but I watched Kaguya-hime last year, and it definitely gave it a run for it’s money.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’ve seen Mononoke, Spirited Away, Howl and Ponyo. I enjoyed the all other than Ponyo. To be honest, I’m not a big Ghibli fan though, and the other films that I’ve seen trailers for don’t appeal enough for me to watch. Oh, I think Castle of Cagliostro was a Ghibli actually, if not originally, then certainly in one of its releases. I enjoyed that, though I find the new Lupin series to be more enjoyable.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I remember Cagliostro was indeed directed by Miyazaki 6 years before he founded Studio Ghibli. Though the studio later re-released it, its distance from the studio’s founding makes it a non-Ghibli film as opposed to Nausicaa, at least for the purposes of this month’s reviews. What exactly do you not find appealing about Ghibli’s works? Why not a fan? Do you prefer other anime, or what would you consider to be the greatest anime?

      Like

      • That’s a tough one. In the case of Ponyo, it just bored me. The trailers for others just didn’t do enough to get me interested. I think that, in part, it may come down to having so many people hyping the studio up as the quintessential creators of family friendly anime films. Personally, I just found that Mamoru Hosoda does that better. I’d pick Summer Wars, The Girl Who Leapt Through Time, Wolf Children and the early Digimon movies over any Ghibli films, even with as much as I love Princess Mononoke as a film. Mostly, ’tis just personal taste I think.

        Liked by 1 person

        • I’d have to agree with you on Ponyo. I’m not sure if it is the dub but the movie seemed really incoherent to me and it was hard to care about its characters for that reason. Boring is a good way to put it. Their movies breathe very well but I think that’s a different subject altogether.

          I’ve never thought of Ghibli as a family studio, since Grave of the Fireflies, Only Yesterday, and Mononoke seem to range from mature to graphic. I think they just make excellent films rather than being subservient to a lot of the confines of what constitutes most anime. I don’t feel like I’m watching anime so much as I’m watching foreign films when I watch Ghibli. Of course that’s more true and less true depending on the title. Case in point, I don’t really watch anime, though I have in the past, but I think of these films are some of the best you can find. That opinion did take a while to come to fruition though, as some of these have grown on me with subsequent viewings. Ponyo, Pom Poko, and Tales of Earthsea will never be considered classics by myself, I’m sure. But I’m prepared to write several thousand words to defend most of the rest.

          What informs me personally that my love for Studio Ghibli isn’t mere hype is the fact that I have followed some of their recent releases such as From Up On Poppy Hill and even seen them in theaters, only to be somewhat let down by them (Poppy Hill wasn’t as good as I thought it could’ve been). It may not be clear yet with only three reviews done, but there are a chunk of their films that just aren’t as good.

          I’ve seen The Girl Who Leapt Through Time but can’t remember much of it, and I have not seen Digimon movies. Though if they’re anything like the early Pokémon movies I may have a bone to pick there, ha!

          Ponyo may have left a bad taste in your mouth but I think even the three films I’ve reviewed thus far demonstrate a real depth and versatility to their animating and storytelling powers, and we haven’t even reached the most acclaimed of their works yet. But in the end, taste will always reign.

          Liked by 1 person

          • Absolutely, there’s definitely some depth there, they just haven’t yet captured me. With regards to the Digimon films though, I’d class them as a different beast to Pokemon. But then, I view the two franchises as very different too (for example, the continued cycle of Ash losing in the main leagues vs the mature themes of Digimon Tamers). Regardless though, I’ll likely end up watching more Ghibli at some point, even possibly without realising it, it’s just getting motivated to do so that’s the problem. I get ehat you mean with not specifically viewing them as anime and rather just foreign films. I’m kinda the same with Ghost in the Shell.

            Liked by 1 person

Kindly leave a civil and decent comment like a good human being

