“A Timely Facelift and Spring Cleaning”

cropped-mage-head-black-smallcrop.png

“If you want a golden rule that will fit everybody, this is it: Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful
-William Morris

 

 

Good to see you again, NPCs. Sorry for the mess. Renovations.

This post is essentially an elevated journal entry, a mere footnote on the long and arduous journey to reconcile knowledge with the human brain. Today is as good a day as ever to take note of a few changes happening at The Well-Red MageΒ to improve our overall appearance and ensure everything remains spick and span. I’m spending my idle time, which is ever shorter and shorter, going back through the entire magely archive since our inception and ensuring everything’s in order, the formatting is up to date, the blackboards are wiped, the shelves dusted, and the annals of history preserved.

fa776b40-b586-0132-46b9-0e9062a7590a.gif

*casts Cleanaga!*

Here are the details: I’m opting for a medium-large headline style text for the opening quotation. These quotes are a necessity for a Well-Red Mage such as myself. I’m also refitting the guest posts so that contributors’ names are more clearly outlined. I’ll ensure that there are no broken links or images or embedded videos. The banner at the top of the page has already been changed so I’ve check that off my list. These are pretty much all minor details I’d equivocate to normal blog upkeep.

However, one thing to note which isn’t a small detail is the final result of a new icon I’ll be using, designed by my very lovely wife, the White-Out Mage. She completed them today using Adobe Illustrator, a thoroughly arcane device with which I am completely inept. The character design was based on my original drawings. Our focus was on trying to maintain the original look of the NES red mage. I played around with the idea of pixelating the character but in the end we went for a design that’s heavy on the stroke. The changes to the look were influenced by 1920’s reporters with the press card in the hat. We were also able to preserve the iconic feather by adapting it to a quill pen in the name of journalism.

 

We are both excited for how the art turned out and we’re thinking about the possibility of giving this same facelift to the other resident and guest mages here. Another possibility, one which we’re entertaining the thought of for the future, is that we may offer the designing of logos and character vector art as a paid service. We’re currently in the process of gauging interest. Several businesses offer logo design but few of them put much personality into the finished product.

With that, I’m off to conquer the archives armed only with a French feather duster and an apron. Thanks for reading!

“For everlasting peace!”

Sincerely,

Well-Red-Mage-Black-sm.png
-The Well-Red Mage

 

22 thoughts on ““A Timely Facelift and Spring Cleaning”

  1. I must have said it before, but if I hadn’t, I’m digging the new picture! It’s a brand new you, and it looks great. Awesome job White Out Mage! You did your Well Red Mage proud! πŸ™‚ I’ve been looking into getting a new look too around the time that I started the channel (since I’m apparently gonna need a non copyright image), but I’m still waiting on a design from a friend. One day in the future, we could both be completely unrecognizable to each other!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Mr. P! We’ve been having a lot of fun tweaking things and trying to move toward establishing a little more customization around here. There’s more to come. Congratulations, publicly, on reaching your 100 subs on YouTube! My twinsie grew up so fast. :’) If your friend’s design falls through, we can talk custom images, if you like, since we’re thinking of offering the service. Just something to keep in mind. Whatever you do, I’m sure it will turn to gold, you Panda with the Midas’ touch, you!

      Liked by 1 person

      • A big thank you to you as always Well-Red! I very much appreciate it!! πŸ˜€ And I’m definitely thinking of taking you guys up on the offer. Seriously! I’m really super impressed by your wife’s work! She did great stuff capturing your essence!! And aww I guess it’s a very monochromatic Midas’ touch then hahaha!

        Liked by 1 person

Kindly leave a civil and decent comment like a good human being

