Tekken 7 (2017)

“A little more than kin, and less than kind.”
-Shakespeare’s Hamlet 

 

 

ff3-nes-sage2 “The following is a guest post by The Evergreen Sage Mage.”

This game has taken forever to make its way to our homes.

Tekken 7 was first released in arcades in 2015 in East Asia, then an updated version, Tekken 7: Fated Retribution, dropped just a year later. Yes, arcades still exist, but in lands far, far away! Us, depraved Tekken fanatics in the “West”, couldn’t help but be a bit more than jealous of this. Our only respite was to play Tekken Tag Tournament 2 on our underpowered PS3’s up until this month, June of 2017, when the home version of Tekken 7 came into our lives and washed away the the pain. I cheated just a bit though; I vacationed in South Korea last summer and got to play Tekken 7: FR in the arcades, as a side-mission. Read about it here, if you are so inclined.

But, let’s turn back the sands of time for just a moment before the 8-bit review, to when the universe was covered in red ticket dispensing arcade games and plastic-grassed put-put golf terrain, when the smell of peach rings and popcorn filled the air, and the sounds of Dhalsim’s elephants trumpeted shrilly out of the din of lasers, laughter and shouting.

Image result for dhalsim stage

These damn elephants

I was in middle school when I was first introduced to the Tekken series at the local arcade, which just so happened to be the size of an entire warehouse. I loved fighting games, probably because I was good at them. In the real world, I was an anxious, nerdy, lanky kid with weird hair, at the arcade on the other hand I was, well, still an anxious, nerdy, lanky kid with weird hair, but I was also a warrior, looked up to by my bepimpled peers. Yes, for a glimmer of my childhood, I was the local arcade prodigy who could in almost any fighting game best any opponent if I put my mind to it. Any game excepting Tekken 2.

Image result for tekken 2

My first main was Paul. Rrrrrraaahhhh!

Tekken 2 was hard and unwieldy to play if you haven’t gotten a little coaching. It seemed over the top in its seriousness of gameplay and its blocky polygonal aesthetic didn’t help either. The truth was, I didn’t get it. It’s a game that “older” people were playing more. By older I mean high schoolers and twenty-somethings. Wanting to be a bit like the cooler kids, Tekken 2 was quietly calling my name from all the way over by the ticket counter where it stood patiently like a sentinel, guarding the fighting game section of the arcade. One fateful day after school, having sold some Mortal Kombat II codes to some kid from another class for $5, I was rolling in the quarters and was itching to play when I saw there was to be a Tekken 2 tournament the following week. Having already been crowned the champ of MKII, my pubescent flaring ego took its peach-fuzzed face to get a closer look at the poster. Next Saturday it was!

Has anybody heard the phrase: “When the student is ready, the right teacher will appear”? Now you might think this is cheesy, but what I’m saying, well, is all true… essentially. There was a mysterious Japanese exchange student who saw me playing that day and for some reason or another, he decided to take me under his wing to show me the ropes. I can still see him with this short haircut parted down the middle and his dark blue jean jacket. He taught me almost only by showing me and then making me mirror his actions. He stood about 10 feet tall and when his fingers moved over the plastic buttons, I swear I could see lighting come out. He taught me what the button inputs meant, what ‘while standing’ moves were, how to punish with a throw as the opponent was getting off the ground. He taught me to jab the air to create space and throw out baiting moves to get the opponent to come into your traps. All this in a week.

When the tournament finally came around and having begged my mom with a new level of desperate groveling I didn’t know I had in me, I got $5 to enter the tournament, and 5 more to play with. My mom was actually supportive of my gaming enthusiasms from time to time. Bless her for eternity! My memory is a bit foggy about how the tourney went exactly, but I do remember that the brackets were set up on paper and, thank the stars, I didn’t have to face my mentor in my first match. Another peon kid from my middle school had the wherewithal to think he could enter the tournament. I mopped him up… like someone who has actually held and used a mop before!

None of my friends were there to cheer me on… it was a true test of my gaming mettle and my only teacher was now my foe, or so I thought. I had made it up the ranks of the tournament (of around 20 people) when I saw my mentor lose against some person I’ve never seen at our arcade before. Some older white guy …with a mustache! Mentor-san lost against him, but turned to me, with a wry smile on his face, like he was Obi Wan, and gestured me over to the machine for the final showdown. He wasn’t much for talking.

Now what happened in this last match, I’m not exactly proud of… but I did win. I mean, I’m not proud now, because back in middle school, we didn’t have fully developed morals. Back then, I was happy as could be to win. What was it, you ask, that went down? Well, I beat this guy in the cheapest way possible when I realized that I was going to lose if I fought him straight. I saw a weakness that I could exploit in his play style. I could get him every time, with throws on the wake-up. Rather than feeling like I was in control, it felt like my fingers did all the work as I watched the screen of a middle-schooler throwing a 20-year-old guy over and over and over and over, until the 2 matches were over. The guy was smashing the buttons like a maniac and cursing as he didn’t know how to counter what I was doing. When it was all over, he stormed off. I got the first place pot and the second place money was kept by the arcade workers, for some reason, instead of giving it to me! I saw my mentor smiling awkwardly at me, a smile mixed with embarrassment and pride. He didn’t seem 10 feet tall anymore, but more like a nerdy, anxious, Japanese high school kid. He still had on a pretty cool jean jacket though and I’ll never forget him.

Since then, the Tekken series has been a special part of my life. It just so happens that I lived in Korea for 6 years, and for the uninitiated, Korea is like the Mecca of Tekken. I had plenty of people who coached me over there, and plenty of guys who simply wanted the joy of crushing a foreigner at something. Both types taught me all sorts lessons, and ultimately how to get good. At one point, in my 4th year in Korea I was invited to join a competitive Korean Tekken team, but had to decline because I didn’t have time to be a teacher, date my wife-to-be, travel and be a pro-aspiring player. Plus, I didn’t really think I had it in me. Oddly enough, at one point in my time in Korea, I even lived about a 10-minute walk from the infamous “Green Tekken Arcade” where some world renowned Tekken players trained. That was the most humbling experience yet in my Tekken “career” as these guys were on a whole ‘nother level of expertise. I got thrashed every time I went there and cherished each win I could carve out. Anyhow anyhow, all this is to say its been a long journey.

Now, as I play Tekken 7 in the luxury of my own home on my PC, beating faceless players online, or getting beat up, there seems to be something missing. I miss the human relational aspect of it all. I miss the wincing faces, the anger, the joy, the trash talking and the mix-coffee that the “auntie” would bring to us at the Korean arcade as we played. I miss the invasive noise of being surrounded by arcade machines blaring away, the in-person community, the coaching, the rivalries and the drama. At this point, I know I can only play for fun, as I won’t be a pro or anything like that, but I’d like to be able to do my part and share my knowledge and experience with others. I’m proud that this game is so well-made, despite, because of, its painfully long wait-time to drop into our homes.

There are other things on the horizon though. As I play, I run into Twitch streamers who are building community around them. Just last night I played against someone named KawaiiFaceMiles. I thought this person is too good, so I did a quick googley search to look him up and he… was a she. Props. She beat me without mercy and she did it fair and square. She’s really trying to make her way to EVO, arguably the biggest fighting game tournament in the world! Here’s a link to her channel if you are interested. Give her a follow. Of course, she’s not the only one making content. There’s a ton of people building community online now, through Twitch, Reddit, YouTube and other social media. It’s a braver new world of competitive video gaming than back in my formative years. Although things are a-changin’, I’m still hopeful.

Anyhow, that’s my little snippet of Tekken history for you. If you dare to join into this legacy of gaming, I’m happy to be a friend/rival/coach or just someone who has some words of encouragement if you’re doing a bit of struggling. It’s a tough game, but who knows though, you could be the next EVO champ and win yourself a big pile of that sweet sweet cash!

Footage from last year’s EVO grand finals -both Korean players- ‘Saint’ vs ‘Knee’ -(Green Tekken Arcade player/beast)

 

 

The 8-bit Review
visual Visuals:
10/10
This game is amazingly beautiful, especially on a GTX 1070 graphics card. It’s all I could hope for and at this point I can’t really care if it gets better than this in future iterations of Tekken. It crossed some magic line in my mind to where I was like “they did it”. I know it could be better, it can always be better, but it has gone into the threshold of awesomeness for me.

20170611110707_1.jpg

 Audio: 5/10
Some people love Tekken music. I’ve never been too crazy about it. I noticed there’s a lot of “wub wub” music in this one, dubstep. Tekken games have always had upbeat electronic stuff. If you have the PS4 version, you get Tekken Tunes, which allows you to set up playlists of all the Tekken songs ever made. If you’re into that stuff and have PS4, you’ll be quite the happy camper.

 Gameplay: 10/10
If by gameplay you mean, what happens when you play, watch the video below. If you mean, how does the game play, on my machine then…the loading times are pretty decent on PC, especially if you have an SSD installed. The bugginess is really in the networking code and otherwise this game runs as smooth as butter on a hot summer slide. It runs at 60 frames per second, like any good fighting game should. The input lag is 8 frames, which is higher than usual, but at least it’s a level playing field?

story Narrative: 3/10
This game is all about competitive play. That being said, there’s the story mode where you can play various characters and unlock their little endings. It’s been like that for ages. The difference here in Tekken 7 is there’s an extended story mode along with the side characters’ story modes. Story modes are just fights, and aren’t somehow not a fighting game.

Tekken has ridiculously over-the-top stories via cut scenes with varying levels of cheese, so its not really something that I’m too crazy about. Still, some endings might inspire a chuckle or two, and if you’re a bit of a completionist there’s always all the stories to unlock. The main story follows the Mishima family and its violent, twisted fate of being genetically mixed with devil genes and all sorts of layers of convoluted anime storyline wackiness. This video does a pretty good job outlining what its all about.

 Online Play: 7/10
The community consensus is that PC has been the best online play experience so far. That is, it has suffered the least of the connectivity issues, compared with PS4. I don’t know about the Xbox One’s version. Still, I’ve been disconnected in tournaments for no good reason. There’s more players on PS4 to fight with, better connection on the PC. More like, irony fist tournament, amirite?

The tournament setup looks like this. Starts on the left and moves to the right

In online mode you can do a few different things. You can play ranked mode where you play and level up your rank. If you get a good win streak going, you can rank up pretty fast. I believe there are around 35 ‘Dans’ (or rank levels) in total. I’m around 10th Dan which is umm okay. I did get up to 11th with Alisa, but got demoted. You can also just do “quick play” which sets you up with another person, but it doesn’t count your wins or anything. Its a great way to warm-up. There are also tournaments that you can create/join that set up either single or double-elimination matches of up to 8 players. This is pretty much my fave. You can’t rank up this way though.

Yeah, there’s about three main modes online.

 Accessibility: 4/10

Image result for tekken arcade controls

Oh that’s why it looked like lighting was coming out of my Japanese mentor’s fingers

It’s amazing what a joystick and four buttons can do. Since I’ve been playing Tekken, the control scheme has remained faithfully the same: octagonal joystick, left punch, right punch, left kick, right kick. Don’t let that fool you though; it’s a hard game with a difficulty curve that might defy most people’s sense of logic. Hundreds of moves are mapped to each character (and around 30 to choose from) with these modest inputs. It’s important to state that new players are going to be frustrated if they expect that they can pick up the game and win against other players online.

So there’s a vampire in this game now. Yep. Should have been Morrigan from DarkStalkers, but beggers can’t be choosers…

diff Challenge: 10/10

Capture.GIF

I was going to wait until I go the last achievement to write this, but I just couldn’t wait

Most people who buy this game, when they realize the level of commitment it takes to get good at this game, will have to make a serious choice to keep playing or just let it go. You can easily sink hundreds of hours into this game and still only be scratching the surface of what it takes to be great at it. So be forewarned, *me attempting a gruff voice* Only the strong survive in the Iron Fist Tournament.

pgrade My personal grade: 9/10
I love this game. It has its trouble spots, particularly with the networking, but I’m sure Harada (the game director) and his team(s) are gonna continue to hammer it out until it sings like no other fighting game has. Get ready for the next battle!

untitled.png

Aggregated score: 7.3

 

The Evergreen Sage Mage is whispered among the forested glades by his other name, wakalapi, and he’s a veritable guru of ludology, a teacher, instructor, and all-around excellent and personable writer. His caffeinated work will stand the test of time at wakalapi.wordpress.com.

 

buybutton

21 thoughts on “Tekken 7 (2017)

    • Agreed. Bloody Roar was actually pretty fun to play with the crew back in the day. I’ve only played the one of the original playstation, but I just looked up that there are more!

      Like

  1. I’m going to say it again: my eyes got very misty reading your story, particularly when you wrote about that community connection of seeing your opponents’ faces. I miss that. Somehow “social” technology has come between a lot of real social interaction. I try to think about that consciously when I sit down to eat dinner with my wife and kids but then I pull my phone out to check comments or tweet. I think I write about arcades a lot, maybe too much, but seeing it and hearing it from someone else’s perspective like yours really cut through my adult cynicism and distrust of other human beings and reminded me of the significance of real human interaction, something I think you have to go out of your way now to find in gaming today. Thanks for writing this, my friend.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have a tolerate/hate relationship with social technology. I prefer public social media like twitter/blogging because at least this way you are freely aware that what you are do online/say/post is going to be view-able by strangers. As much as it brings people together, it also pushes them apart. It allows people to connect with others without developing real world social skills. It’s also all privatized… whereas relationships have often been sanctuaries from coercive elements of the outside world. Now we invite them into our relationships with our friends and family to gather data, send advertisements etc… I’m ranting now… haha, its like having a salesman blathering at the dinner table, at the picnic, a roll of tissue paper that also functions as coupon dispenser depending on the sound of your bowel movements. Okay okay… end rant. haha

      Liked by 1 person

      • As always, your insight cuts to the quick. I find myself mentally shouting the affirmative when I read you saying something like the above. It’s so ironic to me that these “social” bits of tech actually lead to some pretty anti-social behavior like lashing out at others who don’t share your opinions, openly insulting them, trolling them or making fun for little to no provocation, or try even just holding a conversation! Some time, you and I should have an interview or a transcribed conversation about the double-edged sword of social media as it stands today.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I have not played many Tekken games, except Tekken Tag Tournament and Tekken 3. I enjoyed the story about the tournament, congratulations on winning. I liked the description of arcades, I always remembered seeing Street Fighter 2 arcades. I did not realise the games had such a large following, with elite clubs and tournaments, although I knew they were popular. I was also interested in the comparison between playing against faceless online opponents and real-world competitors, where you could feel the emotion and interaction of a group. I could never understand the story for Tekken, mainly because the animated sequences are silent with no explanation.
    Was the story true? With the mysterious Japanese exchange student and the older finalist losing his temper? What is the “Green Tekken Arcade”? How does playing online feel? Is it better or worse than playing in a group? What is the story for the Tekken games? Why is it difficult to improve in this game?

    Liked by 2 people

    • Yes, the story of the older Japanese student was true. He set me on a path that I could never really shake, as I still love this game… and wherever I was in life, it was always there to provide some relief, fun and community. I say I can’t shake it, as if it were a burden and that’s because enjoying competitive gaming is not very “professorly”… nor is my subject of expertise anywhere near anything to do with video games, at least on the surface level… which sadly is how the world tends to operate. The burden lies in social expectations, not the game…

      The experience of faceless opponents is still odd for me, so its a relief when some people who play on PC have their names set to their twitch channel, so I can join in chat as we try to have our puppets beat up their puppets. Its a pretty friendly community and that’s warming to see. Some mom n pops video games stores exist that will host IRL tournaments, but they are faaaar and few between compared to before. Overall online play is still much more lonely and isolated compared to like over in Korea (or Japan), where arcades still exist. I just so happen to have been an ESL teacher for some years in Korea and traveled to Japan to experience all this.

      ‘Green tekken arcade’ is just a name of an arcade in a neighborhood in Seoul, S. Korea. But it is a well-known arcade that is for Tekken players, having a bunch more Tekken arcade machines to play than other arcades. Its pretty much the equivalent to a high-ranking martial arts dojo, where you will find some of the biggest masters of tekken in the world. People who play there (and a handful of other Korean arcades) have dominated the Tekken competitive scene for years now.

      The story for the tekken games basically follows a violently dysfunctional family, the Mishimas. Jinpachi is great-grandfather. Heihachi is the grandfather, now Kazumi was added and she’s a lady with a demon in her. Their kid is Kazuya and can change into a demon when he gets pissed. Kazuya’s kid, Jin also have the “devil gene”. Somehow there’s always a world-wide tournament in the plot where the various characters try to win for their own reasons, as side-stories to the main story.The design of the story is founded on some pretty shaky canon. The first tekkens set the foundation which were pretty bland and since then, they’ve added on all sorts of things to the story. This time a tournament really isn’t part of the main story, it’s all about Kazumi’s relationship with Heihachi and Akuma’s role in all this, aside from trying to bring Street Fighter players to Tekken’s side. There’s more to it, but I won’t spoil it. It’s campy, but at this point it is self-aware campy.

      Its difficult to improve at this game because it is a very deep game. You are playing against real people and real people are difficult. Chess is a deep game… Tekken is too, but in a different way. Chess has very little dexterity and muscle memory skills (but you can’t play without it) and a ton of strategy and meta game (psychological elements). Tekken requires tons of dexterous execution of moves in real time, and is more tactical than strategic. Yet, there is a ton of psychological stuff at work. It can take years to learn the moves and execute combos fast enough to hold your own against more seasoned players. Any martial art is a difficult thing to master… as you are also mastering yourself, in a sense, as well as mastering your opponent… this kind of stuff.

      Anyway, wow, thanks for all the questions. I’m glad the story/review interested you!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Have you played any previous Tekken games? I heard that it might be a little rough to get used to the 3D aspect of T7 coming from 2D fighters (eg, Blazblue)…, but who knows? If you buy it, I’d appreciate hearing your take on it!

      Liked by 2 people

      • I owned every release on the ps1 and played the later ones at other people’s houses, so the switch isn’t too bad in that respect. I do worry about speed though. I’m fairly used to high speed fights now, and sometimes struggle with slower fighters, and I remember Tekken being a little slower than others that I’d played at the same time. Going back to SFII for example was a little hard initially.

        Liked by 2 people

        • Hmm I didn’t think of Tekken as being slow, but that’s because I don’t seriously play many fighting games to compare it with. Of the Tekken games, this has been my favorite for awhile. Its pretty solid, and if you’re gonna jump back into the Tekken series, the right time is now. SFII was pretty slow… I remember the turbo edition and turning that up to max speed. Crazy times… again, if you pick it up, I’d like to hear your thoughts on it. It’s only $50 on PC and is super stable.

          Liked by 2 people

          • I think that if I did get it, it would like be XBox One. I don’t have a PS4, and while my gaming laptop is decent enough for the price, i’m not sure if it would allow it to run at its best. Regardless though, I would happily give my views on it. It may be a while until I get the chance though!
            I think that viewing it as slow for me came from comparing it to SF Alpha 2 and MK3, though that applies more to the older Tekken games…and my memory isn’t always accurate :p Looking at some footage, Tekken 4 actually seems quicker than I remember.
            Crikey, yeah, Turbo Edition was a big jump at top speed. It really did seem crazy the first time I played that.

            Liked by 2 people

            • The xbox1 version is the one I’ve heard the least about. Maybe that’s a good thing in a ‘no news is good news’ kind of way? I’ve heard it runs pretty well on older graphics card and maintains the 60 fps, but yeah, no ultra setting might feel like “why did I buy it for PC then?” Take a look at the footage of the EVO tournament from 2016 to see the speed of the game,… its pretty nimble stuff, but not sure how it compares. Tekken 4… man that was so long ago. haha. I’ll be honest, that was my least favorite… even though it introduced a lot of new and important mechanics to the series.

              If you can nab a snes classic, I believe the Turbo SFII is on it, wouldn’t that be a blast from the past to play?

              Liked by 1 person

  3. I have fond memories of Tekken (PSX) and Tekken Tag Tournament (PS2) but then I finally came to the realization that I am terrible at fighting games and fell off the genre completely. Glad to hear this one though is a top notch entry.

    Liked by 2 people

Kindly leave a civil and decent comment like a good human being

